Potteries Independent Golf Society © All Rights Reserved.

Established 2001

Congratulations to Steve Rushton

and Kevin Abell on winning the

 2010 Order of Merit Competitions

It all came down to the final game at Newcastle Golf Club to decide who would win the years Order of Merit Competitions. In the Stableford Competition just four players were in the frame - Kevin Abell, Steve Rushton, John Smith and Jon Downs. However, Jon Downs couldn’t play which just left the three to fight it out. All three were put out in separate groups to give a little more spice to the afternoon so that all could be revealed in the clubhouse afterwards. Although none would admit it, all three were desperate to win the Stableford Order of Merit.

Captain Andrew Abell announced the scores and it was Steve Rushton who edged home by four clear points to win the Stableford Order of Merit from Kevin Abell in second and then John Smith in third place.

In the Strokeplay Order of Merit it was Kevin Abell who eventually won at a cantor from second placed Karl Furniss with 16 strokes to spare. In third place came Jon Downs. Kevin had played exceptionally well throughout the season and to win this was just reward for being our most consistent golfer. Well done Kevin.

So, well played to everyone on a great competition.